Ramblings on Life

I wish I had more time to blog – I truly do, but there is always so much to get done and not enough time in the day to get through it all. Added to that we have just had the school holidays and with more kids to entertain, clean up after, and feed constantly; there was not much time left to do anything else. Now it’s back to our hectic regular routine.

One Tuesday in the school holidays, good friends of ours kidnapped us for the day to get away from the craziness of children and home chores. We set off early at 8 am  and headed North to the Yarra Valley. This is a beautiful part of the countryside – open rolling hills and blue skies interspersed with vineyards and natural bush. I have a deep love for the country – I feel invigorated when I get out of suburbia into nature and something regenerates within me. I guess I have my dad to thank for this – his love of the bush and nature and the many experiences and adventures he exposed me to as a child have brought me to my happy place when I get out into the country. I think I was born to live on a small farm and truthfully I dream about it often, yearning for the day we can have our slice of self-sustainable heaven.

So as we travelled further into the countryside with our friends I felt myself unwinding – the premenopause tensions slipping away – my impatience and grumpiness fading. Then we began to head up into the hills where we were surrounded by the Kinglake National Forest. Finally we arrived in Kinglake. It is a quaint little town but in all its beauty and cuteness there is a touch of sadness that pervades. In 2009 Kinglake was destroyed by one of the largest bush fires in Victoria – known at Black Saturday. Thousands of acres of natural bush caught alight in the hot summer weather and raged through towns and villages.

063811-iconic-black-saturday-images

767979-b81369b6-889c-11e3-92e1-07d47f226b83

 

Seven years later we could still see the blackened tree trunks, although the bush has regenerated beautifully. The town is newly built as much of it was lost. The saddest part was seeing the memorial where twelve people lost their lives, unable to leave as bush burned all around them.

Despite this, we had a wonderful picnic at their little park surrounded by squawking cockatoos and giant Eucalyptus trees.

kinglake collage

 

Trish and Caroline

Ham and Caro

 

kinglake collage2

Then we headed back down to the hill to the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Ice Creamery. This is a chocolate lovers paradise! I felt like I had fallen into Willy Wonka’s factory surrounded by every kind of chocolate treat possible.

They had the best chocolate brownies I have ever tasted.

yarra valley chocolaterie

Then it was back to reality as we headed home to a house full of kids.

Hubby and I have been doing some soul searching recently. We have come to a point in our lives where we want to downscale and live a simpler life. We just have too much stuff!! Although we cannot move to a smaller home just yet we are beginning to give away a lot of things we don’t use or need. We are looking to live simpler with way less stuff. Our goal is to become more self-sufficient and we have done well this year on the garden front. Hubby has provided numerous vegetables for us this summer. from huge zucchinis to tomatoes, kale, spinach, purple carrots, cucumbers and butternuts. Now we are waiting for our beans and sweet potatoes which are flourishing. This man is a legend in the garden.

I have been productive this year too, with my third book just published. It has been immensely satisfying to me to have accomplished this. I am proud of my efforts. I know I am not the  most incredible writer to hit the planet, but I am still thrilled that I have achieved something memorable and lasting.

RISING FINAL COVER CROP

As for my family – they are incredible people – each and every one of them – perfect NO – but they all add such joy to my world and I am so grateful for them. I look at my life and I feel nothing but thankful for all I have. Life is good and I intend to live each day in the moment – not wishing for yesterday or urging tomorrow on – I want to enjoy every moment I have right now, because I will never have this second, this moment back ever again.

Here’s wishing you a beautiful day too!

Leave a comment