Chocolate Meringue pie and the Easter Weekend…

School has started again today and I almost feel guilty saying that I am enjoying the order of home again with the kids gone. I love having them home in the holidays but all routine does go out the window and I find myself behind on chores. Hubby is back at work too and I probably miss him most – I love the time I have with him during the school holidays!!

Yesterday Michaela made this amazing chocolate meringue pie – it was divine!!  She did this all on her own while I was out and she and Zoe were even kind enough to take photos for me so that I could blog the recipe for you.  This was the best afternoon tea I have had in a long time.

Ingredients:

  • 225 g chocolate digestive biscuits
  • 55 g butter
  • 3 egg yolks
Filling:
  • 4 Tbsp caster sugar
  • 4 Tbsp cornflour
  • 600 ml  milk
  • 100 g plain chocolate broken into pieces
Meringue:
  • 2 egg whites
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Preheat the oven to 190 degrees. Place the digestive biscuits in a plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin. Melt butter and stir into biscuit crumbs. Press the mixture firmly into a pie dish covering the base and the sides.
Beat the egg yolks, sugar and cornflour in a large bowl to form a smooth paste. Heat the milk in a heavy based saucepan until almost boiling, then slowly pour it onto the egg mixture, whisking well.
Return the mixture to the saucepan and cook gently, whisking until it thickens. Remove from the heat. Melt the chocolate in a heat proof bowl over simmering water. Whisk it into the egg mixture to make a chocolate custard. Pour into the pie base.
Whisk the egg whites until soft peaks form.. Gradually whisk in about two thirds of the sugar until the mixture is soft and glossy. Fold in the remaining sugar and the vanilla.
Spread the merigue over the chocolate filling, swirling the surface with the back of the spoon to give an attractive finish. Bake in the centre of the oven for 30 minutes or until the meringue is golden. Serve the pie hot or warm.
I have had lots of opportunity to practice my photography this last week. Michaela had to do some photography assignment for school and her theme is Innocence so she took photos of some children. I took the opportunity to tag along and snap some photos on my camera to pass on to the Mum who “loaned” us her kiddies for the morning. These are some of the shots I got – I haven’t used their faces as I don’t feel I can paste her kids all over my blog without her consent. The faces you do see are of course my own precious darlings!!
Aaron was a bit grumpy when I took this shot but I actually quite like the look!!
This little button had a great time playing with this apple – she is so cute!!
The baby enjoyed chewing her rattle while we took photos.
The other opportunity I had to take some photos was at a wedding of friends of ours from church. Hubby did the ceremony and he did an excellent job. I thought he looked pretty hot in his suit and tie too!!
Actually both of these photos were taken by Michaela as she was standing where the light was right – the shots I got had really bad lighting!! All in all it was a busy but fun Easter weekend. Hope yours was good too!!
One thought on “Chocolate Meringue pie and the Easter Weekend…

Leave a Reply

