Christmas Mince Pies

There is one thing about Christmas that I do enjoy. A good mince pie with a cup of tea or coffee is a yummy treat. Whenever I think of mince pies, I think of my granny Marshall as she used to make many mince pies and they were always delicious. Now Mom has taken over that job, but because we live on the other side of the world I don’t get to enjoy them. I am still waiting for the day that one can send parcels and presents like email at the click of a button – wouldn’t that be great – Mom could scan in the mince pie and it would materialise here ready to eat – oh well one can dream. The next best thing is to just make some myself so here is the recipe I used:

for the pastry:

  • 125g self -raising flour
  • 125g plain flour
  • 125g butter
  • 2 Tbsp Icing sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3 Tbsp water

Mix flour and cut in butter – mix to fine crumbs. Add icing sugar and egg yolk Mix to dough and add water. Place in fridge for an hour before using. Roll out dough and cut out circles and place in muffin pan. Place a teaspoon of fruit mince into tray and cover with pastry. Bake for 10 mins  in oven at 180 degrees till slightly brown. Cool and dust with icing sugar.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Mince Pies

  1. Your Mom

    Well, I never knew that the mince pies had made such an impression on you! I also wish that I could just send a parcel of them over to you. Your recipe sounds very nice – I have made mine ready to take down to the rest of the family for Christmas. How I wish you could all be with us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

