Table Makeover…..Reveal

Finally the ebay table transformation. I have to confess that my hands are worn like sandpaper and my back muscles are a little tired from sanding, sanding, sanding and SANDING!!! However I am very pleased with the results. Here is a photo of the table before when I bought it – it had some stains and scratches on top.

I did not have a sanding machine so this was all done by hand. The reason I chose to sand by hand rather than with a sanding belt was because I was worried about gouging and scratching the table top. So I first sanded with a 100g sandpaper, followed by a 150g paper and lastly a 220g paper.

I couldn’t sand out all the scratches and bumps and I wasn’t completely satisfied with the look so I borrowed a sander from a friend and got to work. Oh how I wish I had used it from the start – what a breeze. There are still some scratches but overall it felt much smoother.

Then I tackled the legs and the side of the table with my paintbrush and antique white paint. After that I sealed and stained the top with Cabot’s Mahogany satin stain and  varnish. A light sanding between coats to remove bumps and voila this is how she looks. They recommend three coats, but I didn’t want the wood too dark at the end so I only used two coats. I love how it turned out and even hubby who was sceptical of my vision agreed he loves the look and is astounded how beautifully it turned out. So all up my new table cost me about $40 from start to finish – not bad hey?

7 thoughts on “Table Makeover…..Reveal

  1. Your Mom

    Well done – your hard work has produced a wonderful result. I sometimes wonder how we managed to produce such clever children!! It really looks lovely and I am sure you will enjoy using it.

    Reply
    1. 4maze Post author

      Thanks Mom, I just have to remain calm now and not yell at the kids for actually using it now – after all that’s what it’s for!!

      Reply
  2. Nix

    Terribly! Almost 3 months of looking now and nothing! Ross will have to move out if we don’t find anything by the end of the month and it will leave me with about 3 weeks to change Asher into her new room and get the baby room ready! Not what I wanted but thats life I guess :-/

    Reply
    1. 4maze Post author

      Bummer – will keep praying for the perfect place for you – or you could always put baby in with Ross and tell him has to breastfeed – haha!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

