Do you know the muffin man…

Nope, I have never met the muffin man, but I do know the muffin girl. My Mom sent a recipe to us that Zoe was itching to try so today after school I let her loose in the kitchen. We didn’t have all the ingredients in the cupboard but because she was so keen I let her have a go anyway. These are so delicious that I am going to post my Mom’s recipe – thanks Mom for a recipe that is tasty and easy to make and can be frozen for emergencies.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raisins or mixed fruit
  • 1 cup(250ml) freshly made tea (still boiling hot)
  • 5ml (1tsp) cinnamon
  • 5ml nutmeg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 and a half cups (625ml) flour
  • 1 third cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • half a tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • half a cup (125ml) oil

Oven at 180 degrees.

Put raisins in a bowl and cover with hot tea – allow to cool. Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl. Beat egg and oil together. Add to raisin and tea mixture. Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix. Place muffin cases in a muffin tin and spoon mixture in. Bake about 20 minutes.                                                                                           

 These were so yummy that I don’t think there will be any over to freeze. Good job Zoe!!

2 thoughts on “Do you know the muffin man…

  1. Your Mom

    Well done. Zoe – I think we must share some more recipes now and then! (I notice in one picture that Aaron had to get into the act as well – to help lick the dish, perhaps?!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

