From the Farmhouse Kitchen…. Slow cooker Curry

 

I am a haphazard cook and often don’t follow recipes. Today I threw ( and I mean that literally)everything I could into my slow cooker before running out the door. As it is cold here I thought a tender, tasty beef curry would go down well tonight. I hope I get the measurements right but if all else fails – taste your food!!! I don’t understand how anyone can cook without tasting their food – that is how I adjust my recipes.

  • Gravy beef   (about 1 kg cubed)
  • 1 large onion chopped
  • 3 carrots sliced
  • potatoes cut into small chunks
  • Curry powder ( about 1 Tbsp – adjust according to your taste)
  • Garam masala
  • Cumin powder
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp sugar

Throw all ingredients into slow cooker – try put vegetables nearer the bottom as they take a while to cook. Add some water to just give enough liquid (about 1- 2 cups) and turn on high for about 3 hours then turn to low for another 2 hours. A delicious tender curry. I served mine with a garlic turkish bread and chutney.

Leave a Reply

