Lamp makeover

I have been working on the lamp that Hubby found for me on hard rubbish. It needed a new lamp part where the globe fits in and we got one from Bunnings Warehouse for a couple of bucks. Here is the before picture of the lamp.

I wanted to change the look completely so I bought a test pot of paint – in my favourite colour – Dulux Antique White and painted the base. The lampshade in the above photo seemed too small to me so I picked up a mustard coloured shade for $1 at the op shop. I considered recovering it but didn’t have the right fabric so instead I painted the shade antique white too.  Then to make my shade different and unique I glued feathers to the bottom of the shade. I love how it looks and now I am hunting for a table/sideboard for my lounge to put it on. Here’s how it turned out.

I love texture and mixing up different textures, hence the feathers. Using a variety of textures in your home furnishings is also an excellent way to create different looks – some cushions covered in different fabrics as well as throws can change the look of a whole room, and when you get sick of it, just change the cushion covers and you get a whole new look without spending a fortune.

Leave a Reply

