From the Farmhouse Kitchen… Health Rusks

No, I don’t live on a farm but somehow my kitchen reminds me of a farmhouse kitchen – big, open, spacious and with wooden cupboards. I am so enjoying this kitchen and all the space I have in it – lovely!!

The recipe I am posting is also an old traditional South African Farm recipe – rusks or beskuit as the Dutch called it. I have previously posted buttermilk rusks on this blog, but this is a variation as they are healthier and filled with more fibre than the other rusks. If you are unsure what a rusk is, then here is my definition: a scone like biscuit that has been dried out to form a crunchy tasty treat that one dips into coffee or tea. ENJOY!!!

Health rusks

500 g margarine
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 kg self-raising flour
2 ml salt
2 eggs
3 cups All Bran (crushed slightly)
6 weetbix crushed
200 ml sunflower seeds (optional)
1/2 cup raisins
500 ml buttermilk
Melt margarine and sugar.
Sift self-raising flour and salt.
Add All Bran, weetbix, sunflower seeds and raisins to flour mixture.
Beat eggs and buttermilk and add to flour mixture.
Add melted margarine and sugar mixture and mix well.
Bake at 180 C for 50-60 min.
Remove from bread pans and allow to cool.
Cut/ break into pieces and dry overnight in oven at 80 C.
This is what they look like before they are dried out.
And below this is the finished product. My rusks tend to brown quite a bit as I have a gas oven and can’t reduce the temperature as low as the recipe suggests.
Leave a Reply

