Moved!!!

29 November 2009

We have officially moved out of our rental home and into the home we are housesitting. It has been two days of gruelling hard work getting everything moved and cleaned. I am looking forward to going back to work just for a rest!! There is no going back now and reality is setting in more and more. There is so much to do and so little time to do it in that I feel overwhelmed thinking about it, but I guess we will eat the elephant one bite at a time!!

 Our next major thing to do is to get some paperwork off to Australia and to get our passport paperwork done so that we can submit it the day after our citizenship ceremony which is coming up soon. If that all goes ahead smoothly then I will be jetting off to Oz in January with the children to get a home and get them settled into school. This is going to be a bit of a financial stretch, but we are believing God to supply every need for this relocation, and somehow I am totally calm about it all.

Leaving our home today for the last time was a bit sad for the children – on one hand they are excited, but also sad at the familiar going. This reminds me of a good 13 years back when we were getting ready to leave to church plant in SA and we were housesitting before we moved. Amazing how things go full circle.

And now I shall retire my weary body and even wearier brain to bed!!!

December 2009

Today was my last day at work and in some ways I was really happy to be finished and in another way I was quite sad to be leaving. Saying goodbye to the young boys I have been working with was quite emotional. I am actually going to miss them (behavioural problems and all!!) but especially some of the lovely staff I have worked with this year. It hits home again today that in about a months time I will be flying off to Australia. We are aiming for Hubby to fly with us and spend about ten days before he has to be back here in NZ work. This will hopefully help me to find a home and everything else we need.  One thing I do know – I am needing some adventure in my life again – it has been too quiet and slow the last couple of years so I am looking forward to the challenge.

Here are some photos of the city we are going to. In some ways Melbourne reminds me so much of Christchurch – the trams, old buildings and the river and cafes – God is so gracious when He restores to us – even the things I loved about Christchurch.

Leave a Reply

