From Fat to Fab

Today is D – day!!! Enough is enough – I need to lose 10kg and hubby feels the same way (about himself – not me!!!). So we are embarking on a  lose weight campaign from today. My weight has slowly crept up after having four children and I am embarrassed to say that I weigh more now than I did at full term carrying A3. Being on a very tight budget hasn’t helped of course, but I now have a new challenge on that front – to shop on a tight budget for healthier alternatives. I have gone back to looking at the Low GI (Glycaemic Index) way of eating. This was really helpful to me when I had gestational diabetes and I could really see how it helped with my weight and health then. So as I go along with this challenge, I will keep you up to date on the interesting facts I discover along the way.

My first goal is to get my head focussed, otherwise I will never see this through. I have a number of testimonies of people who have gone from overweight to looking fabulous with pictures to motivate me. I plan to read a couple of these each day.

Then I need to plan exactly what I am going to eat each day, the night before, because otherwise I find myself forgetting to eat or grabbing unhealthy snacks on the run.

Exercise each day has to become a given – even if it is just a walk.

Drinking plenty of water seems so simple but is one thing I really battle to do – more water is imperative!!

So here we go – hopefully we will be able to stick to it and let you know how it goes. I am looking forward to getting into those jeans again in my wardrobe – I am tired of lying on the bed to zip up my trousers – No more I say!!!!

This is a recent picture of hubby and I – stay tuned, the next time you see us, there should be less of us!!! (although you can’t really see because we’re sitting).

IMG_0634

One thought on “From Fat to Fab

  1. Nisha

    Good luck….please do post recipes of the dishes you make, so i can try them too and lean towards a healthier way of eating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

