Nachos

My children have been begging me to make nachos – a firm favourite in the family. Actually we love Mexican food as it is so tasty but really simple to make. There are always so many delicious flavours that come out of the food.

Here is my version of nachos – I don’t make it too spicy as everyone from a 3 year old upward has to enjoy it. If you like your food more spicy then add extra chilli.

First I brown some mince in a pan. Then I add some cumin, garlic, salt and pepper and mix it well. I really love the flavour of cumin so I tend to add a fair amount. Then I add some chilli powder ( I know I am not giving exact amounts, but you really need to taste as you go so that you can make it as spicy as you like!!). I like to add sugar as well as I love the combination of the spicy with a little bit of sweetness too. Then I add a tin of baked beans and a tin of spicy mexican beans or spicy red kidney beans. I allow this to slowly simmer for awhile so that all flavours can soak into the meat. Sometimes I add extra tomatoes, but not always.

Then I put corn tortilla chips ( we like the chilli lime ones or the cheese ones) onto a plate. I spoon the chilli mince over the corn chips and sprinkle grated cheese on top. Then we add sliced avocado, sour cream, some sweet chilli sauce and of course a good handful of fresh coriander to top it off. It is absolutely delicious, but be warned a little goes a long way as it is very rich. Everyone loves it!!!

IMG_0699

Leave a Reply

