Best Ever Carrot Cake

Tomorrow is our car boot sale to raise funds for Zimbabwe medical supplies. I am baking carrot cake for the market and this is the best cake ever!! This recipe was given to me by a friend and I have found it flop proof and delicious. It makes two large cakes and usually I would halve the recipe but I have used the whole recipe so as to have more cake for the market. Give this recipe a try – you will be so glad you did!!

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups grated carrot
  • 8 eggs
  • 4 cups brown sugar
  • 2 tsps mixed spice
  • 2 cups oil
  • 2 cups sultanas
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 2 cups wholemeal flour
  • 4 tsps cinnamon
  • 4 tsps baking soda
  • 4 tsps baking powder
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts

Mix all dry ingredients together then add carrot. Add eggs and oil to mixture and mix. If your mixture is too dry, add a little milk.  Divide mixture into two greased tins ( I use round springform tins that are lined with baking paper) and bake at 180 degrees till cooked when skewer inserted into cake.

You can ice the cake with a regular butter icing that has a bit of orange squeezed into it, or you can make a cream cheese icing. I have iced the cake in the photos with an orange butter cream icing and decorated it with orange zest. Sometimes I like to top my icing with chopped nuts, chopped apricots and pumpkin seeds if I have them – this makes a very pretty combination. Serve your cake with greek yoghurt – delicious!!!

IMG_0447

 

IMG_0459

One thought on “Best Ever Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

