My Journey – Part 9

Who knew my life was so full – I am going to have to wrap up my journey in a few more blogs but having done these posts I realise  how much happens in our lifetime that we can learn from, be thankful for and celebrate.

We decided when I was 39 that we wanted another child. I was certainly no spring chicken – my youngest child was 5 years old and had started school. I agree that women lose their memories after giving birth – I must have completely lost mine as I was finally independent again with no more nappies, a full night’s sleep again and yet I really wanted another child. So we did. I fell pregnant very easily – I actually went on a detox diet to detox before I wanted to fall pregnant. Well the detox worked great – so well that I fell pregnant whilst doing it!!!

I thought my pregnancy was going so well – I had some serious aches and pains and I was tired but I put that down to being a lot older. So it came as a huge shock after a routine visit to the midwife to be told that I possibly had gestational diabetes. I climbed into the car with Hubby and howled my eyes out!! I then had to have a fasting glucose test which came back indicating that I did indeed have gestational diabetes (gd). I had always said that the one thing I could never do would be to inject myself. I was asked if I would participate in a study that was being done for gd and so I agreed. I was really hoping to be given medication for my problem, but once again my character and tenacity had to be put to the test. The nasty little computer involved in this study randomly selected me to take insulin, which of course involved injecting.

I was petrified when the nurse arrived to show me how to inject myself. I was given a trial run on a board with some padding and then told to inject myself. I had to inject myself into my swollen belly. I was relieved that it wasn’t too painful and that I didn’t pass out. I thought Hubby might be able to help me but he was hopeless – he would run from the room any time I needed an injection.

I must say my sympathy goes to people who have to deal with this daily for their entire lives. Suddenly I couldn’t just eat when I was hungry. I had to eat at regular intervals and the right type and amount of food was important. I would have to test my blood sugars by pricking my finger 6 times a day and then injecting myself with insulin 5 times a day. I truly felt like a pin-cushion.

One morning while in a restaurant having breakfast with Hubby I went to the bathroom to inject my insulin before eating when the lights in the area went out. It was pitch dark in the bathroom and there I was about to stab myself with my injection. “Great… ” I remember muttering. Fortunately the lights came on again and all was good. I found as my pregnancy progressed that injecting became more and more uncomfortable for me. I was delighted when baby was born and my life returned to normal.

I still have to watch out for my sugars and really I need to get back to my diabetes diet – the weight just dropped off me when I cut out all sugar, cut down my carbohydrate portion sizes and ate more salads and vegetables.

I believe that everything we experience can be used to help others travelling the same road. A year later during a routine visit to the clinic I saw an Asian lady who was pregnant waiting in the waiting room. I just knew that she was there for a glucose test for gd. I approached her and was really able to encourage her about what she was going through, especially since she was new in the country. I gave her my number and told her to call me if she needed some support. She called  a week later to tell me that she did not have gd, but as a result we became friends through this incident. I realised then that if I could use my experience to be an encouragement to others, that all that drama and pain was worth it.

Leave a Reply

