Crunchy, Tasty Treats

I am South African by birth but now live in New Zealand. The strange thing is that I now cook more traditional South African dishes than I ever did when I lived in SA. What’s with that? It’s not like I am homesick for SA – never have been although I still love SA, and I am not one of these super patriotic people – in fact my family in SA were horrified when I started supporting the All Blacks (Rugby for those who have no idea what I am talking about). Anyway today I made some buttermilk rusks – these are a crunchy, delicious treat and great to have for the kids when they need a snack. A rusk is like a double baked scone so it is dried out till it is hard and crunchy. These are delicious dipped into coffee and eaten as breakfast or a snack.

Buttermilk Rusk Recipe

375grams margarine or butter

500grams sugar

2 large eggs

1.5 kg self raising flour

2 cups of buttermilk

Cream the butter and sugar till smooth and creamy. Add eggs one at a time and beat well. Add flour to mixture and buttermilk to form a soft dough.

Roll golf ball sized balls of dough and place into roasting tray. Fill up tray ( the balls of dough must be touching and fill the tray completely) Bake in an oven at 180 degrees till rusks have risen and are nice and brown. Break them up into separate “scones” – I then take each scone and halve it again with a knife. Place cut scones on a baking tray  and return to oven that has been turned down to about 90  to 100 degrees. I dry out my rusks on fan bake as this speeds up the process but you can leave them overnight in a low oven if you prefer. Dry out rusks till they are hard to the touch ( should take about 2 to 3 hours on fan bake). Allow to cool. These keep very well in a sealed container for quite a long time but they usually don’t last too long. If you want to make your rusks more healthy then feel free to replace some of the regular flour with wholemeal flour  – sometimes I add raisins or sunflower seeds as well.

Enjoy!!!

img_0054

Leave a Reply

